Practice What You Preach

Standard

Devotion:  Philippians 4:11-12

Do you practice what you preach?  Paul did!  He learned whatever the situation he found himself in; to be content. Oh, how I long to always say, “I am content.”  If we will live our lives in contentment;  we will be transformed into the image of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

As I pondered the words of Paul; I wondered, have I ever really known want?  I don’t think so.  I’ve had everything I’ve ever needed and most of what I wanted.  Still there have been times I have been discontent.

Many people get along with humble means but could live with a humble heart in prosperity as well.  There is a secret of being content whether filled or hungry, having abundance or suffering need.

Paul was joyful, no matter the circumstance.  He always displayed the same demeanor, whether defending the gospel or being beaten mercilessly.

  “Paul truly practiced what he preached.”

No one could steal his contentment.  Why?  Paul’s contentment was not found in his circumstances.  It was established upon the firm foundation of the Lord Jesus Christ.  This foundation can never be shaken.

Paul was always about his Father’s business.  He was fulfilling the Lord’s will on a day by day basis.  He preached.  He taught. He always shared from his overflow; wether it was wisdom, helping someone physically, financially or spiritually.  It brought him such joy to always be advancing the Lord’s kingdom.  In that he would always be content.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, may I alway be advancing Your kingdom.  May I practice what I teach.  I want to live like I believe every word You said.  Help me practice the things Paul taught.  I love You Lord.  In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

