Circumstances=Contentment=Conformity

Standard

Devotion: Romans 8:28-29

Loving God either equals contentment or it does not.  If we truly believe God causes all things to work together for our good; we will be content, no matter what.  I recently wrote a devotional about contentment but when I saw this pattern; I just had to share it.

Are you ever tempted to cave into your anger and discontentment?  To throw an awful, ugly, hissy-fit; before God and whoever is watching?  Would it make you feel better?  I doubt it.  You know how I know that?  I’ve done it.  It always makes me feel worse.  Then I have to repent for how I acted.

I so long to respond in the right way to difficult people and circumstances beyond my control.  I want it to come from the inside of my heart; so that my face shows it and my words convey it.  I love the verse from Proverbs that says, “Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flow the issues of life”   God knows we will have issues all the days of our lives.

God reminded me of 1 Corinthians 10:13 which says, “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and He will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation He will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.”

God did not say it would feel good or we would be happy about all things.  He said it would turn out for our good and His glory.

Here are two well known facts regarding the Christ follower’s life. First, God controls all the circumstances of life. Second, this God, who controls or rules as Sovereign Ruler over the whole universe, loves us and promises that everything will result in good, to conform us into the image of HIs Son.”

My husband and I were discussing a pressing issue in our lives. He said to me one morning;  “Everything happens for a reason.” Although not the answer I was looking for; he was paraphrasing today’s scripture. “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.”   Ultimately everything that comes to us is filtered through the hands of our Heavenly Father. These things happen to conform us into the image of His Son Jesus.

If we will accept this passage as truth; we will be able to approve the things that are excellent and blessed with the ability to fight temptation.  We are born in sin;  however we have been given the power through Jesus to escape not the temptation but the sinning in it.

I pray dear reader that you understand; if we are able to be content in our circumstances, then we will be conformed into the image of our Jesus.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, may I daily be content in my circumstances and acknowledge that you are conforming me into Your image. Thank You Lord!  In Jesus Name I offer up this prayer.  Amen!

 

 

Leave a Reply

