Fruitful and Productive

Standard

Devotion:  Galatians 5:25

Years ago, I worked at Hickory Grove Baptist Church’s Main Campus in the prayer ministry; as assistant to the prayer co-ordinator, Gail Caraway.  On any e-mail sent out by our computer guy; Dick would say, “May you have a fruitful and productive day.

Does your life seem unproductive even though you are involved in all sorts of “Christian” activities?  I read that question posed by Kay Arthur in her book “The Holy Spirit Unleashed in You.” Many Christians pray to receive Christ and then do life in their own flesh, in stead of walking by the Spirit.

What is the secret to living a fruitful and productive life?  

Jesus promised to send the Spirit after He ascended to the Father.  I want you to ask yourself; “What does my personal relationship with God look like?  What is my relationship with His Holy Spirit to be?

In Acts 1:14 we see the disciples “all with one mind, were continually devoting themselves to prayer.”  My dear friend; if we do not continually devote ourselves to prayer; we will not be continually filled with the Holy Spirit.  If you have prayed to receive Christ; He will never leave you nor forsake you; however you cannot live continually filled by His Spirit, if you refuse to have Him search your heart daily, to see if there be any wicked way in you.  Then, ask Him to fill you afresh and anew on a daily basis.

Acts 1:2 tells us; speaking of Jesus, He had by the Holy Spirit given orders to the apostles whom He had chosen.  What orders?  He commanded them in vs. 4-5  “not to leave Jerusalem, but to wait for what the Father had promised…They would be baptized with the Holy Spirit…”

Jesus knew the plan before the foundation of the earth. Jesus knew that it would be through His death; the Holy Spirit would come into the hearts of His disciples.

The only way to achieve a fruitful and productive life is through God’s Holy Spirit.  Seek first God’s kingdom and all these things will be added unto us.

Prayer in Motion: 

Lord, I am asking You today, to search me Oh God and know my heart.  See if there be any wicked way in me and lead me to the way everlasting. Fill me with Your precious Holy Spirit.  May I be convicted, comforted and remain upon the path You have ordained for me. Help me to be fruitful and productive all the days of my life. I love You Lord.  In Your powerful Name I offer up this prayer.  Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

