One Indwelling; Many Infillings

Standard

Devotion:  Acts 2:1-4

Once upon a time; a dear lady told me that I did not understand a scripture; because I didn’t have the gift of speaking in tongues. Another time, a woman had me move places with her; as we laid hands on another person for prayer…all because I didn’t have the gift of speaking in tongues. I suppose she felt I lacked the anointing or power to pray.  On another occasion; my name was called out in prayer for not having the gift of speaking in tongues.

Spirit baptism is tied to salvation.  It is not a separate experience.  One indwelling.  Many in-fillings.  If someone does not have the baptism of the God’s Holy Spirit, then He is not saved.  Without the Holy Spirit, you cannot be saved.  If you are in the body of Christ; then you have the Spirit of Christ living and dwelling in you.

Every believer possesses the Spirit for instruction, for power, for comfort, for security and for guarantee of our inheritance.

Acts 1:5 tells us: “for John truly baptized with water, but you shall be baptized with the Holy Spirit not many days from now.”

The Greek Word for baptized is baptizo.  It means to be immersed.

We are drawn by the power of God’s Holy Spirit when we come to faith in Christ.  He comes in fully, at the time of our spiritual birth.  The baptism of the Holy Spirit is

  •     the evidence of the Spirit’s coming
  •     the effect of the Spirit’s coming
  •     the explanation of the Spirit’s coming

Is there any other way to explain a person’s life so radically transformed?

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus; I pray I will become so sensitive to Your Holy Spirit. I confess my sin before You and ask that You would create in me a clean heart.  Renew a right spirit within me.  Fill me with Your sweet Holy Spirit this day.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

