Make Kindness King

Standard

Devotion:  Ephesians 4:32

On December 18 I was doing some last minute shopping.  While walking around in a local store; I looked to see an employee picking up after her messy customers.  And what a mess they did leave!  There were mounds of scarves; not only out of order but piled up on the floor of the store.  She told me It was her first day at this job.

I asked the lady how I could pray for her.  Teary eyed; she asked me to pray for her children. This beautiful lady’s  other job is teaching belly dancing. (No kidding)  I shared with her briefly the true meaning of Christmas.  It’s about the One who came to this world on our behalf.  Teary eyed; she hugged me and thanked me for the reminder.

While placing the scarves back in their rightful place; a young girl took one off the rack; looked at it and threw it down on the diminsihing pile.  This attendant said kindly; I’ll take that.  Mercy.  Rudeness abounds during this season.

In another store, I got into a conversation with a young woman standing in front of me.  She is a nurse who was purchasing beanie babies for her eleven year old daughter. We stood in line about fifteen minutes only to discover she couldn’t use cash in this line.  She had just moved over from another line, due to the same rule.  Mercy.  No wonder people are wearing their Grinch faces.  I thought cash was king.

I told her how sorry I was.  It was the cashier’s first day and she was just trying to abide by the rules.  Both were at an impasse.

I share this story because you never know the stance of a stranger.  Kindness should always be king in a Christian’s life. Our flesh is weak but we need to make Jesus king of our responses; yes even in Christmas lines.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I thank You that by Your Spirit; I can respond in a kind fashion.  You are always kind to me.  It is kindness that leads to repentance.  I want my response to reflect the image of my Jesus.  I love You Lord.  In Jesus Name, I offer up this prayer.  Amen

Leave a Reply

