The Right Filter

Standard

Devotion: 1 Corinthians 2:13

For about a year, I’ve struggled with my Mr. Coffee coffee pot.  I can make 6 cups with no problem.  If I try to make a full pot; the grounds spill over into my coffee pot every time. The filter somehow gets shifted or moved around when the water begins to filter through the grounds.  It’s so frustrating!  I’ve tried and tried to make it work.  If I have a group of people over, I have to make 6 cups at a time and store it in a 24 cup coffee dispenser.

While shopping on Monday, for the very first time, I saw Mr. Coffee coffee filters.  Voila!  Who knew there were specific filters for this specific coffee maker?  Problem solved!

As Christians, our lives must be filtered through God’s Holy Spirit.  Our flesh filter falls down and wears out easily.  Many times we get so frustrated with people and circumstances that the “grounds” of our frustration spills out onto our loved ones; damaging our witness and testimony.  We must depend on the right filter.

Without the filter of the Holy Spirit; we will always give way to the flesh.  The flesh will automatically default to it’s own way. In us is no good thing. The Bible says, “All we like sheep have gone astray, he (meaning our enemy) has turned everyone into his own way.”

Sometimes it can feel good to our soul, to let those unfiltered grounds spill out of our vessel.  However, left unchecked, those nasty “grounds” can do irrepairable damage to the taste buds of our friends and family members.

Always filter your words through God’s Holy Spirit.  He is the right filter.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, please forgive me for all the times I have not filtered my words.  Oh God, I shudder to think how many times I’ve reacted rather than responded through the power and strength of Your precious Holy Spirit.  May I grow in Your grace and knowledge of the strength available to me through Him.  I want to be pleasing to You Lord in my actions and reactions.  I love You Lord Jesus.  Amen

2 thoughts on “The Right Filter

Leave a Reply

