I Hope

Standard

Devotion:  Romans 5:5

I hope I get this job. I hope I get a promotion. I hope she has a baby.  I hope the Lord will heal him.  I hope so.  I hope not.  I hope. I hope. I hope.

We use that phrase over and over.  At times we say it flippantly and other times we say it with high expectations.  We have been known to say it half heartedly and then their are times we say whole heartedly.

What is your greatest hope for 2017?  On what are you setting your sights?

Webster defines hope this way:

  1.  to desire with expectation of obtainment

    2.  to expect with confidence :  trust

    I like the last definition.  There’s an old hymn with a line that says, “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness.  I dare not trust the sweetest fame but wholly lean on Jesus Name.”  The Lord desires for us to set our will aside and trust fully in His Name.                                                                                                                                                         For what are you pressing into God?  Are you pressing into Him with hope or with doubt?  James 1:6 tells us:  “But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind.”

    More than anything my dear reader; I pray that your “hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness.”  I pray your hopes and dreams line up with His hopes and dreams for you.  I’m asking right now; for you and for me, that we set our fleshly desires aside and ask Jesus; “What is Your hope for my life?”  How do You want me to live my life?

I am going to encourage you from time to time; to intentionally switch out the word hope with trust.  The whole purpose for this exercise; is to solidify the deeper meaning of hope.  I trust that I will get this job.  I trust that I will get that promotion.  I trust that she will have a baby.  I trust the Lord for his healing.  Do you see the impact it could have on your heart and soul?

I’m not saying to take hope out of your vocabulary.  I’m saying; trust takes hope to a deeper level.  Proverbs 3:5 tells us: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path.”

Prayer in Motion:

“My hope is in You Lord.  My life is in You Lord.  My strength is in You Lord.  It’s in You; in You.”  Lord God, I trust You to accomplish what concerns me all the days of my life.  I love You LORD!  In Jesus Name I offer up this prayer.  Amen

Leave a Reply

