Grab a Shovel

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 17:20

My grandkids and me were in our bonus room, with cartoons playing in the background.  All of a sudden we heard this scraping sound outside the window.  I muted the show as three year old Elijah said; “there’s some man shoveling your driveway.” Snow and ice still covered the entrance to our garage.  It was Poppi shoveling our driveway.  Eli did not recognize him with his ball hat perched upon his head.

Our driveway is short but very wide.  I’m sure when Ben started the task; it seemed over whelming.

Have you ever been starring at a mountain with a shovel in your hand?  That is exactly how your circumstance felt; as it loomed large and in charge.  You feel there is no way it can ever be moved. The Lord told us to say to this mountain, “move from here to there and it will be moved.”

     “Faith the grain of a mustard seed can move a mountain.”

Surely we have that much faith; the grain of a mustard seed.  As you pray and seek the face of God regarding your obstacle; exactly how are you praying?  Are you praying His Word back to Him and believing it to be so? Many years ago; I heard a preacher’s kid say; “I think it’s so silly to pray God’s Word back to Him.  He knows what He said.”  Of course He does; however, if “His Word is alive and active and sharper than any two edged sword piercing both joint and marrow;” then I would say, it’s the most powerful weapon of our warfare prayers.

No matter your circumstance I would encourage you to daily; grab a shovel.  Pray God’s Word back to him regarding your difficult situation.

“No weapon formed against me shall prosper.”

“My God will supply all of my needs according to His riches in Christ Jesus.”

“God is for me and not against me.”

“The Lord goes before me and behind me.”

“He will never leave me nor forsake me.”

“He will accomplish what concerns me.”

All of God’s promises are yes and amen.  You will get up from your prayer time; encouraged and equipped for the day.  Grab a shovel.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh Lord my God; I trust You.  I grab my most powerful tool, the sword of the Lord and I promise to read it, speak it, pray it and believe it.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

