Repentance

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 3:2

John the Baptist was famous for teaching the prophetic words of Jesus the Christ.  In Matthew 4:17; Jesus began to preach and say, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”

Messages on repentance are rare these days.  What does repentance mean anyway?  Webster defines repent this way:

  1. :  to turn from sin and dedicate oneself to the amendment of            one’s life

  2.    to feel regret or contrition  b : to change one’s mind

    To repent means more than just saying your sorry.  Verse 8 of Matthew 3 tells us:  “Therefore bear fruit in keeping with repentance;”  Sometimes we say “sorry,”  not even; “I’m sorry.” That takes “us” out of the picture.  Definitely not repentance! Other times we say; “I’m sorry;”  but what we really mean; is I’m sorry I got caught.  Only God knows our true heart.

What does bearing fruit in keeping with repentance mean?  It means turning to go in the opposite direction.  You can’t go the same way and experience the forgiveness and peace of God. Our flesh is weak; so we can fall back into old patterns easily. God’s Holy Spirit is ever present. We must not hold onto our sins but repent and turn toward “the Way, the Truth and the Life.”

When you became a Christian; you were baptized saying; my old man has died and I am now a new creature in Christ Jesus.  In order to live like a new creature; we must ask Him to search us, create within us a clean heart and renew a right spirit within us, every single day.  Repentance is necessary to keep a vibrant, Spirit filled life, so the world will see Christ in us.

Prayer in Motion:

Create in me a clean heart oh God and renew a right spirit within me.  I confess and repent of the sin of _____________________.  “You fill in the blank.”  Please forgive me Lord.  Thank You for the conviction of my sin by Your Holy Spirit.  My flesh is weak but Your Spirit is strong. Thank You that Your mercies are new every single morning.  I love You Lord.  In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

