Pricked to the Heart

Standard

Devotion:  Acts 2:36-37

What does the phrase “cut to the heart” mean?  Some translations say “pricked to the heart,” or “pierced to the heart.”

Have you ever been convicted about a certain sin to the core of your being?  When God truly convicts you; His desire is for you to search your heart.  He wants you to repent so that fellowship between you and Him can be restored.  The Bible says in Psalm 66:18: “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear my prayer.”  As a believer; when you are honestly convicted of your sin by God’s Holy Spirit; you will ask yourself, what shall I do?  Conviction of sin should always lead to repentance; so the relationship between you and God can be fully restored.

Pricked can also mean stabbed, which is reminiscent of Jesus being pierced by the sword, immediately after His death on the cross. His precious blood spilled out on the ground for you and for me.  It’s hard for us to realize it was our sins that put Jesus on the cross.  He suffered and died for you and for me.

We tend to think we had nothing to do with the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.  That happened way before we were ever born. The knowledge of our Savior’s horrific death on our behalf should absolutely prick our hearts to the core.  We must ask ourselves as did the apostles;

                                  “What shall I do?”

Immediately ask for forgiveness and restoration between you and your Lord.  Thank Him; perfect, sinless Jesus for taking your place.   It should have been you and me.  We all deserve the punishment He took for us.  It’s amazing what He did on our behalf because of His great love for you and for me.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh Lord, please prick my heart that I may stay humble and close to You. I want to be convicted of my sins continually and always repent quickly  You are so good to leave me with Your Holy Spirit.  I love You Lord.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

