I’m Starving

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 5:6

Ever said the words; “I’m starving”?  We probably all have at one time or another.  We can get ravenously hungry and yet have we truly known real hunger?  For most of us, I think not.  Have you ever looked at a picture of a starving child?  Bellies bloated, eyes matted, rail thin arms and legs.  It’s truly sad.

As my eyes beheld today’s scripture; I mediated on what it means to hunger and thirst for righteousness.

God calls us blessed if we hunger and thirst for righteousness. He then says, “we shall be satisfied”.

I began to wonder if we truly “hunger and thirst for righteousness?  Webster defines righteousness as the following.  “stresses guiltlessness or blamelessness and often suggests the sanctimonious <wished to be righteous before God and the world”  Do we truly long to be guiltless and blameless before God and people; as much as we hunger and thirst for physical food and water?

Hunger and thirst are our most basic needs.  Babies cry when they are hungry and thirsty.  Some people get “hangry” when they are hungry.  Hunger and thirst can bring about emotional responses.

Do you want to be truly satisfied?  If you dare; ask God to make you hungry and thirsty for His righteousness. There’s an old hymn that goes like this.  “The longer I serve Him, the sweeter He grows.  The more that I love Him more love He bestows. Each day is like heaven, my heart overflows.  The longer I serve Him the sweeter He grows.”

My friend; the only way to true satisfaction, is to practice hungering and thirsting for righteousness. Ask the Lord to put that longing in you as much as for your physical food.   It will bring about a spiritual response. No one or no-thing can satisfy you like Jesus.  He has done so much for you.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I boldly ask You to make me hungry and thirsty for Your righteousness.  I want to be satisfied by You and You alone. This world will pass away but Your Word will not pass away.  May I cling to You, the Living Word.  Teach me Lord; to number my days, that I may present to You a heart of wisdom.  I love You Lord.  In Jesus Name.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

