Journey of Journaling

Standard

Devotion: Isaiah 8:2

Isaiah took for himself those who would record or write down everything important.  So what are the most important things for which you have been praying; the one thing you’ve prayed and hoped for? …for a very long time….  How fervently have you prayed and wept to see this thing come to pass?  Have you fasted?  Have you seriously sought the face of the only One who can do anything about your petition and request?

              “All things are possible to him that believes.”

and yet….It’s been years.  God’s faithfulness never wanes, not even for a second.  George W. Shay wrote this amazing song: “I sing because I’m happy.  I sing because I’m free.  His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.”

Your enemy will tell you; God has forgotten or He’s not even listening to the cries of your heart. My friend, God is working in your life, to accomplish what concerns you and the one for whom you are praying.  That’s the kind of God you serve. He never forgets.

I must confess I haven’t been a great “journaler”.  I write daily but I have not journaled my petitions and requests to God.  I know people who have journaled for many years.

Tom Howell encouraged me to begin to journal my prayers and petitions.  “Seek the Lord while He may be found.  Call upon Him while He is near.”  I was quick to hear but slow to act upon his advice.

                             Today is the day to begin.

I want to encourage you my reader to do the same.

Date your requests.  Watch and wait expectantly for the great and mighty things you know not of.  So this is my challenge for you and for me.  Let’s buy a spiral notebook and begin to journal our prayers.  Set a goal of twenty one days.  I pray that God will greatly encourage you as you journal and believe God for the impossible.  Let’s call it our “journey of journaling.”

Prayer in Motion: 

Lord God, “my heart and flesh cry out to You the Living God. Your Spirit’s water to my soul.  I’ve tasted and I’ve seen.  Come once again to me.  I will draw near to You.”  I offer up my petition and requests to You Jesus.  May I pray what’s on Your heart. May my petitions and requests be a sweet smelling savor to Your nostrils.  In Jesus Name I offer up this prayer.  Amen

2 thoughts on “Journey of Journaling

Leave a Reply

