Judging = Unforgiveness

Standard

Devotion: Matthew 7:1-6

“Don’t judge me!”  How many times have you heard this statement?  No one likes to feel judged.  These verses clearly explain the purpose for not judging other people.

“By your standard of measure, it will be measured to you.

That’s a sobering statement, straight from the mouth of God to your eyes.  Oh, how I pray, it goes straight to our hearts.  I’m asking God to bring it to our remembrance; every time we start to judge another person, saved or unsaved.

We all have logs in our own eyes because according to Romans 3:23 “we all sin and fall short of the glory of God.”  While studying the book of Matthew through Precept upon Precept, Kay Arthur challenged us to read and understand Matthew 7:6.

         We are to take the speck out of our brother’s eye                         but first we need to get the log out of our own eye.

Before you speak bold and courageous truth to your brother, you must examine your own life.  Be honest  and quote Romans 3:23.  I am a sinner.  You are a sinner.  We all sin.   The Bible tells us; if we see our brother has fallen into sin, we need to go to him, tell him the truth and if he repents; help him get back onto the right path.

Walking in forgiveness will keep you from judging your brother. It doesn’t necessarily mean your relationship will be restored. You must cling to God’s standard but love your brother anyway. The Bible says, “Love covers a multitude of sin.”  It’s because you love him that you tell him the truth.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh God, please forgive me for all the times I have judged my brother or sister in Christ.  May I first take the log out of my own eye before I go to a brother or sister who has sinned.  It’s a hard thing to confront one who is in sin.  I want to be about Your business Lord, so I will obey You; when You ask me to go to one who has fallen. In Jesus Name. Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

