Soul Clinging

Standard

Devotion:  Psalm 63:8

The Word of God fell open to Psalm 63.  Verse one begins; “O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for  you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.”

This Psalm was written by David when he was in the wilderness of Judah.  Have you ever found yourself in a wilderness; maybe not a literal wilderness; but a wilderness of the soul?  There is no where else to turn but to the Lord your God.

The cries of your heart seem to go unnoticed by heaven.  All of heaven seems silent in this particular area of life.  When your flesh faints for a word from God; how can you encourage your soul to keep on clinging to Him; to keep on trusting, when your eyes see no “water” in sight?

We must become intentional in order to keep our souls clinging to the Lord our God.  Intentionally search the scriptures for attributes describing the characteristics of God.  Speak these proven qualities of the Lord your God to your soul and I promise you, He will begin to restore your soul.  Why?  Because you are speaking the truth about Him, who He is to you and the people for whom you are praying.

The Lord does not change.  He is immutable!  He is Omniscient, all knowing!  He is Omnipresent, with you always!  He is Omnipotent, all powerful!  He is merciful.  His mercies are new ever single morning!  There are thousands of attributes listed in God’s Word just for you; for such a times as this.

Sing songs of praise and worship to the One who has not forgotten you.  His ways and timing are perfect.  God is most glorified when we confess who He is, in the midst of our wilderness experiences.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh God, “my heart and flesh cry out, to You the Living God.  Your Spirit’s water to my soul.  I’ve tasted and I’ve seen.  Come once again to me.  I will draw near to You.  I will draw near to You.”  I love You Jesus.  It’s in Your Name I pray.  Amen

Leave a Reply

