Marvelous Faith

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 8:5-10

How often do we implore Jesus?  Do we even understand the depth of the word implore?  Webster penned some synonyms for the word implore.

appeal (to), beseech, besiege, conjure, entreat, impetrate, beg, importune, petition, plead (to), pray, solicit, supplicate

Let’s hone in on the word importune.  It implies desperate prayer. The centurion obviously loved his servant.  Paralyzed the servant was unable to do any work for his master. The Bible calls him tormented.  Jesus said, “I will come and heal him.”

Let’s think about this.  The centurion was a man in charge; having many men under his authority.  Wouldn’t you think he would be elated that Jesus wanted to come to his house?  The Savior of the world was wanting to come to his abode.

Even though this man stated, “Lord, I am not worthy for You to come under my roof, but just say the word and my servant will be healed.”  Jesus marveled at the centurions’s great faith.  He said he had not found such great faith in anyone in Israel.

I so long to have this kind of faith, the kind of faith that says; I know that I know You can and You will.  Jesus calls it “marvelous faith.”  He says, “Faith the grain of a mustard seed can move a mountain.”  Have you ever thought, “Surely, I must have at least a mustard seed sized faith?”

It might mean to keep on beseeching the Lord about a matter.  It might mean believing God for the impossible with men.  After all; “things impossible with men are possible with God.”  All things are possible to him that believes.  Do you believe that with passion; fervent passion, that avails much?

When will you use importune praying?  Begging and pleading with marvelous faith in Christ the Lord?  Does that sound like an oxymoron; to beg and plead with Jesus?  It is absolutely NOT an oxymoron! That’s the kind of prayer that God longs to hear from you.

Prayer in Motion:

Dear Jesus, I long to hear You say, I have marvelous faith.  Lord, thank You for being patient with me and training me in righteousness.  I want to always pray with importunity.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

