Worst Day of My Life

Standard

Devotion:  John 16:33

I heard my friend say, “This has been the worst day of my life!” Truly, it had been the hardest day she has encountered thus far. I won’t go into the details because of confidentiality; however, I will say; God promised, “In this world we will have tribulation, but be of good cheer, for I have overcome the world.”

What’s been the worst day of your life?  Was it the day you lost your job, lost a loved one, or lost your security?  Remember the words of Jesus.

                                 “Be of good cheer…”

When facing huge life changes; fear will completely overtake our minds and hearts, if we allow it.   The fear is real; fear of the unknown, fear of the “what ifs”, fear of failure, fear of losing people and stuff, our beloved stuff.

There’s a cute  children’s book (see below) written by Judith Viorist.  It would be good to share with any child in your life. Alexander wants to move to Australia to get away from his bad day.

The rest of Jesus’ promise goes like this:

                          “for I have overcome  the world.”

We would all  like to run away when we are overwhelmed with tribulations.   We must live in a world that is unpredictable; not knowing what our next second will bring.  Thank the Lord our hope is not in this world and what our eyes behold.  We must run into the arms of Jesus.

We are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses.  We have the armor of God available to us.  We have God’s Holy Spirit to comfort us and His Word to give us wisdom from above.  We can access the throne room of our King, any time; night or day.

God will always be there for the best days; as well as the worst days of our lives.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord God, thank You for hearing my cries.  You’ve got me and You behold all my days before they even happen.  You are with me in every tribulation.  Thank You Lord for saving me and never leaving me nor forsaking me.  I trust You Lord with every single day!  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

