Impossible Not to Speak

Standard

Devotion:  Acts 5:19-20

Is it impossible for you to keep silent about all the great and mighty things the LORD has done for you?  Will you bear witness to all that you have seen and heard regarding your Savior?  Peter declared, “We must obey God rather than people.”

These apostles had witnessed the death, burial and resurrection and ascension of Jesus.  They also had witnessed Pentecost, where everyone spoke in another language, to give out the gospel.  The Sanhedrin leaders were good at giving out orders in direct opposition to God’s commandments.  These men had an exaggerated idea of their own importance and power.  In stark contrast; the apostles were committed to obeying God.

I’m certain that you’ve experienced someone in your life who had an exaggerated idea of their own importance and power.  If you are committed to obeying God; He will eventually reveal the truth to Whom all the power and glory belongs.  It may be at His appearance before they acknowledge the Gospel truth.

You are responsible to give out this truth in love.  God will give you Holy boldness just as He did these apostles. God asks, “Whom shall I send, who will go for us?”  Will you answer, “Here am I, send, me.”?  Oh how I pray you will.

You could be greeted with the same fury as the apostles. There are usually one of three responses to the truth of the Gospel. Confrontation with the Gospel either elicits repentance, disinterest or anger.  Whatever the case, you will either plant a seed or reap a soul.  You win either way because you are being obedient to your Savior.

Prayer in Motion:

God, may it become impossible for me to withhold the Gospel truth of Jesus.  I pray You will give me a sense of urgency as never before.  Holy Spirit, empower me with the words You would have me to share.  I trust You Lord to lead me out into the highways and byways and compel them to come in.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

