Correct Hearing

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 13:13

How engaged are you when having a phone conversation with someone?  I thought I was listening intently to my friend Michele.  We have been praying for her brother in law John, who was recently diagnosed with leukemia.  She was telling me that his doctor had asked him about his immediate concerns or issues regarding his condition.

Here’s what I thought I heard her say:

“I’m worried about going on vacation.”  I said to Michele; “John’s worried about going on vacation?”  I thought that to be a strange statement.   She broke into hysterical laughter.  We both did.  I misunderstood what she said. John’s true statement was as follows. ” I’m worried about getting my medication.”  Mercy, I am in no way joking about this situation.  It is very serious.  Cancer medications are astronomically expensive. The purpose of sharing this blog is to say;

We can easily be mis-understood or mis-understand the words that come out of someone’s mouth.  John got an amazing report this week.  His white cell count had come down by the thousands. He is in remission after two months of treatment. The doctors had told him not to expect remission before six months. Praise be to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Jesus spoke to people in parables because they could not understand any other way.  They could not hear nor understand what he was trying to tell them.  In other words they were not truly listening.

We need to listen very carefully when people are talking to us because what they say is important.   God never mis-understands us.  He hears our words exactly as we say them and knows exactly what we mean by them.  Praise His Holy Name.

Prayer in Motion:

Jesus, thank You for never mis-understanding me.  Please help me to listen carefully to people when they are talking to me.  May I listen closely as they share what’s on their heart. In Jesus Name.  Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “Correct Hearing

Leave a Reply

