What Am I Lacking?

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 19:16-22

This passage of scripture brings us to examine our hearts regarding our attachment to “stuff”.  What’s the young man’s question directed to Jesus?  “Teacher, what good thing shall I do that I may obtain eternal life?”  The rich young ruler thought he could “earn” eternal life.  How did Jesus  first respond? He told him to “keep the commandments.  Then the young man asked; “Which ones?”

Jesus being fully God; already knew the commandments the young man had fully kept.  After Jesus listed them, the young man feeling pretty good about himself begin to brag; “All these things I have kept.”  Then the young man asked a key question.

                                  “What am I lacking?”

Isn’t it interesting that he knew there was something missing, something lacking?

Jesus was about to tell him something that revealed the rich young ruler’s very heart of hearts.

“Go and sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven, and come follow me.”  

Omniscient God knew the young man’s response.  It must have grieved the heart of the One who created him for fellowship with Himself.

When the young man heard this statement; he went away grieving, for he was one who owned much property.”

I remember the story of another man named Simon; who thought he could purchase the power of God with money.  He didn’t understand the divine power that comes from God, has already been purchased through the blood of Jesus Christ.  He has provided us with the treasure of His precious Holy Spirit.  He is the One in whom we live and move and have our being.  Without Him, we cannot operate effectively as a Christ follower.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, thank You for the gift of Your Holy Spirit. I sing unto You Lord; “Spirit of the Living God, fall fresh on me.  Mold me, make me, use me, fill me.” ” I need You Lord, more than yesterday, I need You Lord, more than words can say, I need You Lord more than ever before, I need You Lord.  I need You Lord.  More than the air I breath, more than my next heart beat…”  “HOLY SPIRIT YOU ARE WELCOMED HERE. COME FLOOD THIS PLACE AND FILL THE ATMOSPHERE.  YOUR GLORY LORD IS WHAT MY HEART LONGS FOR, TO BE OVERCOME BY YOUR PRESENCE LORD.”  In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

