Parable of Two Sons

Standard

Devotion: Matthew 21:28-32

I’ve read this parable many times and never understood it the way I did today.  My husband and I began to discuss it.  The way I’ve always understood it; was that the chief priests and the scribes gave the wrong answer. It just didn’t make sense to me that Jesus would tell them they should have given the second answer, “I will, sir’ but did not go.”

On a Wednesday after reading the whole context and having my eyes opened though the Holy Spirit who dwells in my believing husband; I GET IT!  Jesus wasn’t telling the chief priests and scribes, they gave the wrong answer; He was telling them, although they gave the right answer; they did not believe in Jesus. They were not full of regret or remorse regarding their unbelief.  The tax collectors and prostitutes although they rejected Him at first; did finally feel remorse and believed in Him and followed after Him.

Mercy, how could I be so wrong?  I’ve been asking God to open my eyes to His Word and to give me understanding like never before.  He is doing it!  He is revealing the hidden things.  There is so much hidden treasure there; if we will just study to show ourselves approved unto God.  May we always seek His wisdom and understanding rather than relying on our own.

My friend Jo Ellen says, “You’ve got to live it out before you can give it out.”  We must also trust in the Lord with all our heart and lean not unto our own understanding.”  Our own understanding will lead us down the wrong path.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, help me to study your Word always in context.  May I seek You deeply.  Please give me wisdom and understanding above all else.  I want to live it out before I give it out.  I want Your wisdom and Your understanding.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

2 thoughts on “Parable of Two Sons

    • I love you Veronica! God uses you mightily on a daily basis! You have beautiful feet because you spread the gospel of your Lord Jesus! He is so pleased with you and great will your reward be in heaven. Have a wonderful day my dear!

Leave a Reply

