Prayer Changes Things

Standard

Devotion:  Matthew 6:6

My friend Patty Proffit made me a plaque that I placed above my desk top.  It declares Prayer Changes Things.

There are times you are skeptical because sometimes, you pray and things happen; but sometimes you pray and they don’t. Sometimes you don’t pray and the thing you forgot to pray for happens anyway.

Years ago, I led a group called Moms In Touch International.  I had a grandmother who came four or five times and declared this prayer thing isn’t working.  She never came back.  It was so sad to hear she had given up on prayer.

Every major season of spiritual awakening has been characterized by intense, persistent, corporate prayer. Our enemy likes nothing more than to keep us prayer-less.  Many times we do prayer-less studying, prayer-less ministry which results in prayer-less religion.

The Bible tells us the devil laughs at our toil, mocks our wisdom but trembles when we pray.  Prayer brings power to the weakest of the weak.  It brings fire.  It brings rain.  Prayer brings life.  It brings God into a godless situation.  There is no power like that of prevailing prayer.

God says; “We have not because we ask not or we ask with wrong motives.”  Recently, I read from Luke 11 about the man who went to bang on his neighbor’s door, insisting that he get up and give him three loaves of bread for his visitors.

This man was asking a ridiculously excessive request at a most inopportune time but because of his shameless persistence, the neighbor rose up and gave him his request.

The Lord says, “Won’t your heavenly Father who never sleeps and loves you like precious children; won’t He give you whatever you need to do His will?

In Luke 11:9-10 Jesus uses three verbs, ask, seek and knock. They are all in a Greek verb form that implies continuous action. Keep on asking.  Keep on seeking.  Keep on knocking. That’s how prayer for the empowerment of God’s Holy Spirit works.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, I believe You hear me when I pray.  You are a God who hears, a God who sees and a God who moves.  Your timing is perfect.  I trust You to accomplish what concerns me and those for whom I am praying.  Thank You for this wonderful way You made possible for Your children to communicate with You.  In Jesus Name I pray.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

