Prayer Requests

Standard

Devotion:  James 5:16

How many times have you been given a prayer request and then you forget to pray?  You think about the person but you really don’t take their request to the Father.  There’s a huge difference. Thinking about someone and praying for them is entirely two different things.

First of all, when you tell someone you will pray for them and you don’t; it’s a lie.  I’ve been guilty.  That seems kind of harsh but it’s true.  If you will only think of them, then say; “I’ll be thinking of you.”

I stop and pray right then. If it’s time sensitive, such as an interview, an appointment or procedure; I write the time down, so I will remember to pray during those hours.  We keep our minds and time filled to the brim, so writing those requests down is imperative.

Sometimes we don’t believe our prayers make a difference.  We kinda throw up a half hearted prayer in Jesus Name and then forget about it.

1 John 5:14-15 NKJV says, “Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.”

There are times we forget to have Him search our hearts, to see if there be any wicked way in us.  God says in His Word: “If I regard iniquity in my heart; the Lord will not hear my prayer.” Today, ask the Lord to examine your heart and if He points to a sin or sins; then confess the sin.  “He will be faithful to forgive you of that sin and cleanse you from all unrighteousness.” Praise His Holy Name.

Our God  determines how and when He will answer our petitions and requests.  We just make them known to Him.  He also says in Ecclesiastes,  “A cord of three strands is not easily broken.” He also says “Where two or three are gathered together in my Name; there will I be in the midst of them.”

Please take the prayer requests people give you seriously.

Prayer in Motion:

God, I know You are a God who sees and hears.  I make my petitions known to You this day.  I count it a privilege to pray for people.  They are Your people You created for fellowship with You.  When they hurt, I hurt for them.  May I take their prayer requests seriously.  I exalt You Lord!  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

