Being a Mom

Standard

Devotion:  Genesis 4:1-2

My husband I were eating at one of our favorite places in Kannapolis called “The Varsity”.  He asked me to look up at the message running on the t.v. screen hanging above my head.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  As we approach Mother’s Day 2017, the words being said were flashing below.  “The celebration of Mother’s Day is awkward for married gays.  What?

Why was Mother’s Day established?  The following reason comes from Wikipedia.

“In its present form, Mother’s Day was established by Anna Jarvis with the help of Philadelphia merchant John Wanamaker following the death of her mother, Ann Jarvis, on May 9, 1905. Jarvis never mentioned Howe or Mothering Sunday, and she never mentioned any connection to the Protestant school celebrations, always claiming that the creation of Mother’s Day was hers alone.[13]

A small service was held on May 12, 1907 in the Andrew’s Methodist Episcopal Church in Grafton, West Virginia, where Anna’s mother had been teaching Sunday school.[3] The first “official” service was on May 10, 1908, in the same church, accompanied by a larger ceremony in the Wanamaker Auditorium in the Wanamaker’s store in Philadelphia.[3] The next year the day was reported to be widely celebrated in New York.[14]

President Wilson’s Mother’s Day Proclamation of May 9, 1914

Mother’s Day 1915 postcard from Northern Pacific Railway

Jarvis then campaigned to establish Mother’s Day first as a U.S. national holiday and then later as an international holiday.[15] The holiday was declared officially by the state of West Virginia in 1910, and the rest of the states followed quickly.[3]

God created the first man, Adam and the first woman Eve. Eve was also the very first mother. I guarantee they were not confused about their sexual orientation. God is not the author of confusion. Our public school teachers can longer refer to the children as boys and girls but as students. They are not to label them what God created them to be; just in case they “think” they are the opposite sex.

As our culture continues to spiral downward, I wonder when the card industry will change the name of moms and what they will determine we should be called.  Good grief.  Come quickly Lord Jesus.

I love being a mom to my two sons and grandmother to my soon six grandchildren.  I pray to God that not one of them will believe God created people to be something other than what He created them to be.  God was not confused when He created them, man and woman, male and female. He created mothers by His design.

Prayer in Motion:

God, thank You for the gift of moms and motherhood.  I thank You for the treasured memories of my own mother.  You created her to be my mom with and on purpose.  I thank You Lord for using her to help train me up in the way I should go.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

