Covering and Removing

Standard

Devotion: Psalm 103:12-14

My husband and I are painting the main part of our house, which includes the den/kitchen/dining room and hall way.  Everything is in the middle of the floor or piled up on the dining room table and kitchen counter tops.  My goodness, I  hope we don’t have any company for the next few days.  This is how we will spend our Memorial Week-end.  Can I say I am excited?  I guess I just did. Those are not exactly the words Ben would use.  He hates painting but he does it out of love for his bride.

We are covering that awful golden color with a more updated light grey.  Next we will rip up our seventeen year old carpet, that has stains refusing to be removed. I can hardly wait to refresh this area we live in ninety nine percent of the time.

We’ve only painted about one and one half walls at this point. As I sit here typing with the mess surrounding me; I thought about God’s covering of our sin with the blood of His only begotten Son.  He removes our sins from us as far as the east is from the west and remembers them no more.  As our Bridegroom; Jesus gave His life for you and for me.  He suffered an awful death; totally laying down His life for yours and for mine.  It doesn’t get any better than that.

God is so good to give us His only begotten Son to die in the place that should have been ours. We are the ones who have sinned and fall short of His glory.  Jesus hated the shame and reproach of crucifixion; however, He first loved us! There had to be blood shed by the Perfect Lamb of God to cover our sins.  As long as I live, I will never get over His “marvelous, infinite, matchless grace, freely bestowed on all who believe.”   Bless His Holy Name.

What a way to start the day!  Praise God from whom all blessings flow.  Ok, gotta go make breakfast for my husband so we can get painting.   I pray you have the best day ever!

Prayer in Motion:

Oh Lord, Your mercies are new every single morning!  Great is your faithfulness!  Thank You for covering my sin and removing it from me as far as the east is from the west and remembering it no more.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Leave a Reply

