To Whom Do You Give Grace?

Standard

Devotion:  John 1:16-17

To whom do you give grace?  The acronym for grace is God’s Riches at Christ’s expense.  We easily give grace to those whom we love but it’s a bit more challenging to give it to those with whom we are aggravated or disappointed in.

Can you give grace when someone cuts you off while you are driving?  Can you give grace when you are waiting in a parking deck with your turn signal on, for a parking place and a person comes zipping around the corner and pulls right in the same spot? Those sound like minute incidentals but how do you honestly react?

I’ve talked a lot about grace in my devotions lately.  Maybe that’s because I’ve been given a lot by my Lord and the people in my sphere of influence.  The Bible says; “To whom much is given much is required.” We need to give a lot of grace to the people God has placed in our lives.

Grace is not blindly avoiding the truth of someone’s sin to keep from hurting their feelings.  It’s confronting the sin in love the same way Jesus did.  We are doing more good for the kingdom’s sake; by holding one another accountable for wrong actions, than to say nothing.

If we ignore wrongful actions; people begin to think it’s ok to act the way they are acting, to do the things they are doing and continue to say the things they are saying.  When we “know to do good and do it not; it is sin.”  “We are to do unto others as we would have them do unto us.”  Treat people with respect and honor.  That reflects grace to the saved and the lost, more than being silent regarding the truth.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, may I continually pour out grace upon all those You have given me.  You give me grace unmerited every day of my life.  Thank You for teaching me and training me in righteousness to give it to those You have blessed me with.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

