Our View Changes our Perspective

Standard

Devotion: Romans 12:1-2

Since moving into our house in 1999; I’ve had my quiet times on the right hand side of my living room sofa.  It has been the place I read and study God’s Word.  Recently, I had the idea to create a new place to study and pray.  It’s in the corner of my dining room; below my book shelf.  I placed a small white table with a lamp, right beside the chair that once sat beside our bed.

From this corner; I can see the bird feeders and the beautiful blue hydrangea bush.  It’s like having a fresh start, a new place to meet with Jesus.  Now mind you; it’s probably thirteen feet away from the sofa, however it brings with it a whole new perspective.

When I was young; my dad built us a new house, a couple of football fields length from the old house.  The old house sat under a hill upon which my sister and I sledded every winter. The house sat so far under the road above us; we could barely see Brandon Road from our living room window.

The new house had a beautiful view of Table Rock Mountain out our living room window.  You are probably wondering why I am giving you all these details.  I’m telling you this because:

                       our view changes our perspective.  

If moving a piece of furniture can change our perspective, think what changing our mind and heart can do.  God declares in His Word, “If any man be in Christ; he is a new creation.  Old things have passed away, behold all things have become new.”  We need a renewed mind and heart on a daily basis.  “If we seek Him; He will let us find Him, when we search for Him with our whole heart.”

Ask the Lord to search your heart daily, to see if there be any wicked way in you.  If we confess our sin; He will cleanse us from all unrighteousness and renew a right spirit within us.  Talk about a new perspective!

Prayer in Motion:

Lord of heaven and earth, I thank You for making me a new creature in Christ.  Please do not allow me to become so set in my ways but to always acknowledge Your higher ways.  You will direct my path and order my steps.  Thank You for a new perspective and for renewing a right spirit within me.  I love You Lord Jesus.  It’s in Your Name I pray.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

