Waiting

Standard

Devotion:  Proverbs 8:34

I hate waiting.  My husband and I had to wait 14 hours in the ER on Saturday evening from 4:00 p.m. till 6:00.a.m.  It was pure torture.  The later it got; the stranger the clientele became. People were getting angrier and angrier.  Some were bleeding. Others were in pain.  Some were sick on their stomachs.  Some were very loud and others were crying.  There were all nationalities and ages ranging from babies to people in their eighties.

I had experienced pain in my chest and right arm along with tingling down my arm.  All were symptoms of heart disease. Doctors made me stay over night because they want me to do a nuclear stress test on Monday.  They don’t do them on Sunday so I’ve tossed and turned all over this hospital bed.

Waiting is incredibly hard when time drags on and on and on. One guy got so tired of waiting; he waved the nurse over and said, I feel suicidal.  Honestly, I wouldn’t make that up.  One minute he was laughing his head off and the next he felt suicidal. He just told the nurses that tale; so he could get ahead of the fifty other people waiting.  Other people who had waited over ten hours got up and left; and quite honestly I didn’t blame them.

At one point; I wanted to take a picture of the expressions on people’s faces.  Ben said I would get in trouble for putting these people on social media without their permission.  You start to get a little hysterical when you’ve been up over 24 hours; so I began to laugh when I would hear someone fussing about their wait time; not out loud of course, just under my breath.

Quite frankly; waiting on God takes a lot of patience.  Waiting on Him involves long suffering.  He has great and mighty things in store for those who love and trust Him enough to wait upon Him. Allow Him to teach you to watch prayerfully while you are waiting.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, I thank You for never getting impatient with me.  All this waiting is training me in righteousness.  I trust You to accomplish what concerns me both now and always.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

