Out of Warranty

Standard

Devotion: 2 Timothy 1:12

My husband and I came home late on Tuesday evening to discover our hot water heater wasn’t working. (Our hot water heater is located outside.)  Ben decided to wait until daylight to go outside to investigate.

As a rule, our appliances break a few days or months after the warranty has expired.  Ben was able to call a 1-800 number and praise God the hot water heater is still under warranty. Warranties are great; that is, until they expire.

There’s one thing we can own and the warranty never expires. It’s the perfect gift of salvation in Jesus Christ.  You don’t have to update your warranty.  You never have to check to see if has expired.  You can’t lose it or misplace it.  You can be persuaded that God Himself has your name written down in the Lamb’s Book of Life.

Paul said, “For I am persuaded that He is able to  keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.”  Many people feel one can lose their salvation.  I contend that people are not saved; then lost, then saved again.   Wouldn’t that be an awful way to live? Never knowing, wondering am I saved or not? Oopps, I sinned again; I better ask Jesus into my heart again.  At what point do you lose your salvation?  WE all sin and fall short of the glory of God but some of us know where we will spend eternity.  What sin causes you to lose your salvation?

Ever heard anyone say, well, he made me do it or she made me do it.  No one can make you do anything you don’t want to do. We all have a free will.  We must respond quickly to God’s Holy Spirit.  HIs warranty will NEVER run out.  It’s always current.  He will keep you safe, until He’s ready to take you to glory.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, my only hope for eternal security is based upon what You did, not what I do.  I confessed that I sinned against You and repented of my sin.  I fall short of God’s glory on a daily basis but You forgive me and renew a right spirit within me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

