Smell and Taste Led to Deception

Standard

Devotion:  Genesis 27:19-35

De-caff coffee?  My son Joshua asks; “Why”?  It doesn’t get you revved up in the morning.  While in college; I only drank coffee to keep me awake while studying.  To me; it never tastes quite as good as it smells.  Many years ago; weighing ninety five pounds, I put two teaspoons of sugar and a lot of cream to make my coffee taste better.  It was a little coffee along with the additives.

I drink coffee and hot tea because they soothe everything; my throat, my cough and my soul.  When I sit down for my quiet time in the morning; I always have a cup of coffee or tea beside me. It’s so sweet to meet with Jesus in the corner of my kitchen where I can watch and hear the birds.

I have learned to drink my coffee black, although it still smells better than it tastes.  Always.

Let’s compare sin to coffee. Don’t get offended; it’s only for comparison.   It’s black and smells so good.   Some love the taste.  I just love the warmth.  The caffeine gets into your blood stream pretty fast and revs you up.

Jacob and Esau’s fight was over food.  Because Issac was blind at this point; Jacob tricked Esau, the first born of the twins, out of his birth right.  Jacob was his mother’s favorite and she got in on his trickery as well.  She cooked up some wonderful stew for him to feed his father and steal the birth right, while Esau was out hunting for the meat to prepare.

Esau could hardly wait to prepare his kill for his father and receive his birthright.  Little did he know; Jacob had weaseled him out of it.  Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive.

Deception usually begins with one of our five God given senses. We love to taste what we smell.  We want what we want when we want it.   Our nose can get us into trouble.  Our eyes can be bigger than our stomachs when it comes to food.   We eat what we don’t need because it smells and tastes so good.  I am guilty. We must learn to allow the Holy Spirit to lead us versus our senses.

Issac was tricked by his nose and his hunger.  The stew was super delicious and it smelled just like the stew Esau had prepared for him in the past.  What better way could Jacob have chosen to deceive his father than through food.   A bowl of Isaac’s favorite stew traded for brother Esau’s birthright.

Let’s only desire what is ours to have; not what belongs to someone else.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, please help me to desire the things of you.  I don’t want to be deceived by my own senses.  Help me to wait upon You and not miss Your blessings.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

