Practice, Practice, Practice

Standard

Devotion: 2 Corinthians 10:5

Science show us we need to practice using something or studying something  at least seven times in repeated intervals over time before we are going to be able to use the information or perform the skill.

When in 7th grade, I remember telling my math teacher; math makes me want to kill myself.  She said; “Libby, please don’t say that.”  She loved math but it just frustrated me to no end.  Here’s the truth.  I told myself over and over.  I can’t get this.  I don’t understand it.  I’ll never be good at math.  I never was.

Here’s the funny thing.  I only had one teacher for algebra in High School.  He was a terrible teacher; at least for my way of learning. He knew how to do the problems.  He just could not explain them well.

I did fine in geometry because all I had to do was memorize the theorems and apply them. It was logical thinking. I’m not an abstract thinker; however, I think I may have done better, if someone would have encouraged me to prioritize practicing doing extra problems.

Dr. Caroline Leaf in her book “The Perfect You” says, “Getting our attitude under control normally takes about sixty-three days.” True change is a process.  Taking every thought captive does not come naturally.  Replacing those poisonous thoughts with God’s thoughts will take at least sixty three days to become a habit.  Your flesh will resist it on every hand.

Ask God to help you.  You pray for me and I’ll pray for you.  No matter how young or old you are; it’s never too late.  It just takes practice, practice, practice.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, help me learn to apply this scripture daily to my thoughts.  I want to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.  I know I must practice this in order to experience true change.  I want to set my mind and heart upon You.  I want to have Your mind.  May I choose to practice the discipline of taking my negative thoughts captive.  In Jesus Name.  Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

