Intentionally Paying Attention

Standard

Devotion: Philippians 4:8

Many of us are easily distracted.  We have to intentionally make an effort to pay close attention.  It only takes a gnat to fly by for our heads to be turned.  Others are so focused; not even a loud noise distracts them from what they are doing.  I wish I had an ounce of that kind of focus.

It has to be totally quiet; no noise in the background, when I am reading.  When I was in college; I would go to the library to study because there were too many people up and down my hallway and in and out of my room. I could hear other people laughing and having a good ole time in their rooms.  All these things drove me to distraction.

Can we train ourselves to deliberately pay attention?  Through practice, I believe we can.  What thoughts are you planting into your brain?  What you consciously think about should be deliberate, with the aim to develop understanding.

Dr. Caroline Leaf says;”Intentional deep thinking shapes your world view.”  When you think deeply, your brain has the potential to change.  Lord knows I need my brain to change.  I want to study to show myself approved unto God, to rightly divide the Word of truth.

What’s the most important thing in the world?  To love God and His people with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind and all your strength.  In order to do these things we have to focus on Him, His character, and His attributes.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, thank You for giving me the mind to think on the things You would have me to dwell on.  I want to intentionally pay attention to Your Words and listen for Your voice.  I love You Lord.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

