Smitten by Christ

Standard

Devotion:  Hebrews 12:2

As I read the prayer of my dear friend Cynde; she ended it with praying: “May our Jesus manifest Himself to you in a special way, that you might behold Him and be so smitten by Him that He flows in you and freely through you, as you live and move and have your being in Jesus.”  Those powerful words totally pierced me through.  On an early Tuesday afternoon; I experienced being smitten by my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  He made His presence know to me; right in my kitchen on Ferncliff Drive.  Praise His Holy Name.

Through the power of God’s Holy Spirit; I understood the word smitten.  Christ is the only one in whom we live and move and have our being.  Quite frankly; He’s the only One with whom we should be smitten.  Let’s look at a little bit of history for the word  smite.

“The word can be traced back to an Old English word meaning “to smear or defile” and is a distant relative of the Scottish word smit, meaning “to stain, contaminate, or infect.” In addition to the straightforward “strike” and “attack” senses, smitealso has a softer side. It can mean “to captivate or take”-a sense that is frequently used in the past participle in such contexts as “smitten by her beauty” or “smitten with him” (meaning “in love with him”).

How I pray you and I will infect other people with the love and truth of Christ Jesus.  My dear believer in the Savior; I ask the Lord to make you more and more smitten with Him.  I pray that we will become courageously contagious.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, thank you for bringing me into You innermost sanctuary.  I love You more and more with each passing day.  “The longer I serve You the sweeter You grow.”  “Draw me nearer, nearer blessed Lord, to the cross where Thou hast died. Draw me nearer nearer nearer blessed Lord, to Thy precious bleeding side.”  In Jesus Name.  Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

