Winners Either Way

Standard

Devotion:  Hebrews 12:1

How can we do that in the midst of suffering?   I’ve known the following people for many years and I’ve watched them do life when it’s pleasant as well as when it’s not so pleasant.  They continue to look to the Author and Finisher of their faith.  They run the race in such a way as to win the prize.

Over the past month, I’ve heard that three of my good friends discovered they have cancer.  I hate the word.  I hate what it does to people.  There are those who are healed for a season. Then there are those who are healed for the rest of their days. There are also those who struggle through to the end.  They suffer pain, horrific sickness and weakness.

There are  times a person gets a good report.  My friend Linda is one such person.  She only has to take radiation and no chemotherapy for her breast cancer.  The cancer was removed and after her surgery; I saw on her refrigerator the words; “Today, I am cancer free.”  What a blessing, to be able to write those words.  Jesus, I pray You will totally eradicate that cancer from her body.

In the past two weeks my friend Patty’s brother was diagnosed with cancer.  My friend Dennis was just diagnosed with cancer. Another friend named Chuck just found out he has cancer. My friend Teresa has battled cancer for the last fifteen years.  A longtime friend and former neighbor named Becky had breast cancer along with a mutual friend named Joyce.

All of these people look so healthy on the outside.  The joy of the Lord is certainly their strength because they all have a personal relationship with Jesus.  Cancer does not define them.  Jesus will either heal them now, later or in eternity.  They are all winners either way.  How can this be possible?  …because they have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.  He defines them.

Cancer is never easy to walk through.  Hearing the “C” word; is like having a death sentence stamped on your forehead. Although strangers do not know about my friends’ illness;. I would imagine it feels like everyone knows.  Their lives are forever changed.

These friends all just keep on living and doing what God has called them to do.  For some it’s praying.  For others it’s teaching or preaching.  All of these strong believers serve God’s kingdom in some capacity.  Each one of them would absolutely say; “I’m a winner either way.”

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, teach me to number my days that I may present to You a heart of wisdom.  I am a  winner whether I live or die.  You promised to never leave me nor forsake me. You are with me from life’s first breath until my final one.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

