Shouldn’t Take Too Long

Standard

Devotion:  Ecclesiastes 3:1

Over the course of the past two months; I’ve heard my husband say a number of times, “This shouldn’t take too long.”  We’ve laughed because almost everything has taken two to three times longer than we thought.

I’ve heard doctors, dentists, nurses, painters, flooring guys, plumbers and all sorts of people proclaim; “This shouldn’t take too long.”  We can make those declarations; however, until we get into a project or plan of action, you never know what you are going to encounter.  For every single thing my dear husband did to renovate; he had to either spend twice the time doing it or redo certain things.

Our God is a God of specific time.  Today’s verse declares it to be true.  So what is the thing for which you wish God would hurry up; the thing for which you have been praying?  You wonder if God has heard the cries of your prayers.  Of course He has; however, His timing is perfect.

The Lord is faithful to all who call upon Him.  He’s working in and through the situation.  He is a Gentleman, so He will never force Himself on any human being.  He wants you to trust Him with the timing.  I, for one am impatient.  God’s still working on that fourth fruit of the Spirit .  You see, I love to hear the dentist say, “This shouldn’t take too long.”  I love to hear the car repairman say; “This shouldn’t take too long.  I love to hear any person working in my house say, “This shouldn’t take too long.”  I must be patient, when plans are changed due to unexpected challenges.

For God, “a day is as a thousand years and a thousand years is as a day.” His definition of “too long” is different from mine. He’s working all these things out for my good and His glory.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord, may I be patient with people and with all You are doing. You send people into our lives to teach us and train us in righteousness.  I so long to be taught and trained by You.  May I wait upon You expecting to gain new strength.  May I run and not be weary and walk and not faint.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

 

 

One thought on “Shouldn’t Take Too Long

  1. Oh my, am I also impatient! I know God is working and I know He has perfect timing but my human weakness is “hurry up Lord”. I pray I live more day to day not wasting my life waiting. I want His perfect will only in my life!

Leave a Reply

