Listen = Silent

Standard

Devotion:  “Speak Lord, for your servant is listening.”

Did you realize the same letters in the word listen are the same letters in the word silent?  Isn’t that amazing?  There’s a reason we have two ears and one mouth.  No one loves to talk more than I do.  I hear you laughing.  It is the truth.

I also love to listen to a good story.  I really enjoy hearing good preaching and teaching.  Why?  The preaching and teaching of God’s Word yields fruit that will remain.  If we heed God’s Word; it helps us make better choices.  When temptation comes; and it will, we can choose to abstain from “the sin that so easily besets us.”

Our enemy prowls around seeking whom he may devour.  He knows our weaknesses; so those are the areas he will choose to attack.  He has no new tricks up his sleeve.  The old ones have been working for him since the beginning of time.

During every trial; we must learn to be silent and listen for the voice of God.  He will “order your steps and direct your path.”  If we take to heart the sermons, the Biblical teaching and encouragement from God’s Word, we will be trained in righteousness.  I am  not saying it will be easy; just that we will be trained by our trials.

God does not want any trial or tribulation to be in vain.  He wants His children to learn from them and pass along to others; how we are applying what we’ve learned.  You see our trials are not just for our benefit.  Be still. Be quiet.  Listen for God’s voice.

Prayer in Motion:

Oh Lord my God; I do love You more today than yesterday.  I need You more with every passing day.  You are so good, so kind, so all knowing.  Thank You for the trials You with which You have entrusted me. Speak Lord, for your servant is listening.  In Jesus Name I offer up this prayer.  Amen

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.