Inside Out

Standard

Devotion:  Psalm 119:11

I saw a notice lying on my oldest son’s kitchen countertop.  It was written by my grandson’s Awana leaders.  They were to come to their Awana’s program dressed in their clothes turned inside out.  I thought what a fun and innovative way to draw kids to such a powerful program.

I never had the opportunity to be a part of this program but what an amazing way to reach children in their formative years.  Children memorize tons of scripture.  I love the scripture that declares; “I will hide His Word in my heart, that I might not sin against God.”

“Awana is a world-wide nonprofit ministry focused on providing Bible-based evangelism and discipleship solutions for ages 2-18.  Awana gives children the opportunity to know, love and serve Jesus, no matter their background.”

“to know, love and serve Jesus…”  Is there anything better for the next generation?  I don’t think so.

The term inside out is an adverb defined this way: “in such a manner that the inner surface becomes the outer”  As I read this definition I thought about hiding God’s Word in our heart.  It literally causes the inside to become our outer actions and reactions.  God’s Word becomes the word of our testimony.

We should always be living out the Word that we’ve hidden in our hearts.  So many times we fail to live out what we give out.  We speak it.  We preach it.  We pray it.  And yet, when it comes time to apply it to our life circumstances; we fail to allow it to turn us inside out.

I guarantee if we will allow God’s Word to turn us inside out; we will turn the world upside down with the love of the Lord.

Prayer in Motion:

Lord Jesus, I want to be turned inside out with Your Word.  Help me to be so different that people will be drawn to You Jesus.  I want You to be magnified to a lost world.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.